Queen of Nothing Review! // i am forever speechless

Hi friends!

i am already screaming. prepare for gibberish.

also!! this review is spoiler-free for QoN but does contain spoilers for the previous two installments in the series.

He will be destruction of the crown and the ruination of the throne.

Power is much easier to acquire than it is to hold onto. Jude learned this lesson when she released her control over the wicked king, Cardan, in exchange for immeasurable power. Now as the exiled mortal Queen of Faerie, Jude is powerless and left reeling from Cardan’s betrayal. She bides her time determined to reclaim everything he took from her. Opportunity arrives in the form of her deceptive twin sister, Taryn, whose mortal life is in peril.

Jude must risk venturing back into the treacherous Faerie Court, and confront her lingering feelings for Cardan, if she wishes to save her sister. But Elfhame is not as she left it. War is brewing. As Jude slips deep within enemy lines she becomes ensnared in the conflict’s bloody politics.And, when a dormant yet powerful curse is unleashed, panic spreads throughout the land, forcing her to choose between her ambition and her humanity…

i don’t know what it is about this series that utterly destroys me.

But what I do know, is that I love it. I could genuinely scream for hours and years. But let’s actually be a little coherent, shall we?

CARDAN AND JUDE GUYS. FREAKING CARDAN AND FREAKING JUDE. ASDFGHJKL*.

*so much for being coherent

I’ve honestly liked Cardan since The Cruel Prince. And The Wicked King only cemented my love/hate relationship. But this? This made me realize that he is one of my all-time favorite characters. His character arc is spectacularly done over the course of this trilogy, and Queen of Nothing is the height of his growth.

And Jude! I am struggling to grasp for words right now. Jude is a character who I feel like is made of rough emotions and conniving ideas. But in this conclusion, we got to see a more raw, more vulnerable side of her.

But as for Cardan and Jude? As in, Cardan and Jude together? My heart could not take it. The sheer development of both characters, of their relationship, nearly brought me to tears. It is so powerful, so wonderful, so lovely. This book is the culmination of the ultimate enemies-to-lovers ship and I will hold it in my heart forever.

By you, I am forever undone.

ahem. i should probably talk about other things.

Secrets come to light. Oak is hilarious. Actually, I feel like there were a couple of strings left open for future books set in this world? I’m so, so excited to see what Holly Black does next. The pacing in this book was phenomenal, mixing action with politics expertly.

Conclusions can be a little wonky. It’s hard to find the right balance between predictable and unpredictable, action and dialogue, all while tying up loose ends. Queen of Nothing did suffer a little bit. It was a little predictable, a little easy. But I still enjoyed my time reading it!

In general, I fly through these books. I’m so invested. And now I’m so sad that it’s over? This trilogy is absolutely incredible, and I’m so thankful to have read it. Tell me: Have you read this? Or anything by Holly Black?

18 thoughts on “Queen of Nothing Review! // i am forever speechless

  1. GREAT review!!! I have the exact same opinion: I freaking LOOOOOVE Cardan and Jude and since the beginning, Cardan has been one of my absolute favorite character because of the unknown intentions… That’s what I lacked here: I wanted it to be a little less predictable because it’s been building up for SO long and the ending was a little see-through… However, not all endings were bad. Some characters got what they deserved and what I hoped they’d end up like… What are your thoughts on Madoc? Personally, I would have loved for them to get on good terms and thought the ending was a little harsh because despite him being a kind of arsehole, I liked him for some reason…
    Happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you!!💜💜💜 YES totally!! I feel like everyone lost a lot of their secrecy, which definitely made it predictable. I totally agree!! And yes, same here about Madoc…I kind of wish we had gotten more sort of fatherly scenes at the end? Rather than what actually happened lol. Thank you, I wish you the happiest of reading as well!

      Like

  2. It broke my heart not to give this book five stars although I still did enjoy it. Like you I just found certain bits a little easy & predictable which was so frustrating!! So I’d rather focus on the wonder that is Cardan & Jude. Definitely one of my all time favourite ships. Oh and I adore how their reunion came about in this book. And I was blown away by her sisters actions. And just…yeah I loved a lot about it. And you really should check the short story collection out sometime. It shares some wonderful details about his past and one of the shortest stories made me swoon 😂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. YES EXACTLY! sorry for the caps lol but that’s exactly how i feel haha! cardan and jude are truly just…no words. her sister is also no words but for different reasons😂😂 that collection is on my tbr but you’ve reminded me to pick it up soon! ahhh, i am so beyond excited to read it now hehe

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.