Tag Tuesday: Top 5 (or four) Books That Scared Me!

IT’S SPOOKY SEASON! And that means I get to talk about books that scared me! Which is a very tall order to fulfill considering that I for some reason rarely get scared in literature. Or maybe that’s because I mostly read fantasy…anyways, let’s just get on with it shall we? Top 5 Tuesday is hosted by Meeghan @ Meeghan Reads.

This is my favorite horror book. There’s simply no other book I’ve ever read that terrified me so viscerally, but also completely enchanted me to keep reading. It’s beautifully dark, woefully atmospheric, wholly creepy. It’s as if Us and Stranger Things were combined among others to create a story that has stayed with me for months. I love this book.

Alright. Now that I’ve pulled myself out of my dreamy House of Hollow obsessed stupor, I can go back to being a bit more (or less, idk) coherent. The Companion takes place in a single estate, and as Margot the main character wandered around, I felt the dread creeping in. This story is terrifying because of a human component, the very opposite of any supernatural thriller.

Home Before Dark is surprisingly creepy. Listening to this book while being unsure if there was a horrible, twisted ghost with buttons for eyes* lingering in the dark or if there was some logical explanation really threw me for a loop. I actually felt slight chills. It was kinda crazy since that almost never happens.

*actually i’m not sure if i’m just imagining coraline at this point. oops.

The first half of this book is the definition of atmospheric perfection. If only I could bottle that feeling up and get high on it during the second half but I digress. I loved the feeling of foreboding creeping up my spine every chapter, the sense that something just wasn’t quite right. It was subtle and spooky and so much fun.

So that’s it! I know that this is only four books but I can’t really make up another one that actually give me chills. Actually, The Woods Are Always Watching came close but that’s more thrilling than scary. Tell me: what’s your favorite horror rec?

Instagram | Twitter | Pinterest | Goodreads | Girlfriend Box | The StoryGraph | TikTok

15 thoughts on “Tag Tuesday: Top 5 (or four) Books That Scared Me!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.