Tag Tuesday: Top 5 Summer Reads!! // here comes the sunnnn

Hi friends! Today, we’re talking about summer reads for Top 5 Tuesday, hosted by Shanah @ Bionic Bookworm. Although…I am a bit notorious for being absolutely awful at seasonal reading, as you’ll see in a moment, I love feel-good, quick summery reads!

This book literally has summer in the title. And I, being the clever human I am, read this dead set in the middle of winter*. BUT this is set in Hawaii, in summer. There’s barbecue and karoke and surfing. However, this is mainly a story about grief and identity and music. It’s not a light book, but it still feels like the perfect summer contemporary! Also, this cover is GORGEOUS.

*that says quite about me tbh

Okay, so maybe I didn’t absolutely adore this book. But Sarah Dessen is absolutely fantastic at writing books that, while not necessarily memorable, just feel like summer. Do I remember 90% of this book? No. Do I associate it with June/July/August? Heck yeah.

This is literally one of the PUREST, MOST ADORABLE, MOST CINNAMON ROLL BOOKS EVER*. The entire graphic novel is rich with color, overwhelmingly joyous. It’s perfect for the summer months!

*it’s so pure i’m apparently screaming

With The Fire On High would also be an amazing pick, but I want to give some love to Acevedo’s newest novel! This is another book with grief, tackling hard topics, but it’s also a tale of sisterhood and found family. The Dominican Republic is written with such love and care, it feels bright and almost like I’ve been there. Also, this does take place during the summer too!

I don’t know about you guys, but summer is virtually the perfect time to watch slightly brainless reality TV. So, this is perfect for me during summer! It’s basically a dystopian, royal Bachelor. Perfect for light reading!

That’s it! Tell me:

What makes a perfect summer read for you?

Do you have a favorite book to read in summer?

Instagram | Twitter | Pinterest | Goodreads

21 thoughts on “Tag Tuesday: Top 5 Summer Reads!! // here comes the sunnnn

  1. Great ideas!!! And hahaha Selection is soooo true!!!! I’m currently watching Too hot to handle on Netflix and before watched Selling Sunset and I was soooo reminded of this series because it’s super cheesy, they’re not too smart and just entertainment all the way!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. hahahah it was super entertaining haha! I mean they’re all bitchy and also back-stabbing, but the houses and atmosphere are great and it’s super funny because there is too much drama to handle hahah!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve heard a lot of good things about Summer Bird Blue and these all sound like great summer picks. I’m really not a seasonal reader in general; I feel like summer should involve lots of contemporary and thrillers but tbh I just pick up whatever I feel like reading :L

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.