Interview With Black Author Brandon Lawson!

Hi friends! In honor of the last day of Black History Month, I wanted to do an interview with the author of a sci-fi book featuring a Black female protagonist called Nova’s Blade! So thank you for answering my questions Brandon!

about the book:

“THIRTY-TWO WOMEN. ONE ARENA. A BATTLE TO THE DEATH. After a long war, corporations have replaced countries. Sports are fought to the death. The most popular game is Last Valkyrie, a live tournament where women kill each other for marriage into a powerful family. For Nova, living in poverty with her mother and sister is a harsh reality that she cannot escape. But when she is kidnapped and forced to fight on the show, her world changes. If she refuses to fight, the bomb in her head goes off. Now winning means her freedom. With death lurking at every moment, Nova has no idea if her next fight will be her last. But one thing she knows for certain: only one is making it out alive. Perfect for fans of Hunger Games, The Selection, and The Princess Trials. You won’t want to put down this exciting page-turner!

interview questions:

Tell me a little bit about yourself!

I’m from the Bay Area. I’m currently a high school English teacher. I’m an MBA student with a focus in marketing at a California state university.

What does it mean to you to have a book featuring a Black protagonist?

An opportunity to showcase black people in the dystopian fiction that is Nova’s Blade. Not many dystopians have black main characters, so this was a perfect opportunity to do something different along with the story.

When did you first realize you wanted to be a writer?

It was senior year of high school. I took a creative writing class as a replacement for calculus. After writing a few short stories, I found it to be very fun, and started writing outside of class.

How do you find inspiration for your stories?

It comes from my creativity and imagination, something which I personally have to thank God for. Anytime I get an idea out of nowhere, I credit it to my creativity which I credit to God and Jesus. That’s the only way I can explain my ideas.

What’s a favorite hobby of yours that doesn’t involve writing or books?

I like going to the gym and movies, watching tv, and playing video games. I also like reading comics.

How would you pitch your book if it were a headline in a newspaper?

32 Women. 1 Arena. A Battle to the Death. Hunger Games meets the Bachelor.

Who’s your favorite character in the book, and why?

Maximus because he’s tough, but also deep down he actually has a good heart. This creates a dynamic for his character where he is more than meets the eye. He’s a badass, but one who cares for others.

Do you have any plans for a sequel?

Yes, I do. I plan on writing it sometime this year at the end, or in the beginning of next.

Where did the idea for the title of Nova’s Blade come from?

It was first called Death Dating Games, but then my dad suggested I go for a different title, because the title wasn’t appealing enough. I went for Death Games, but it felt too generic. I decided to have the title after the character in the book base on my dad’s suggestion. Her name was originally Juniper, but I found that to be too bland. I changed her name from Juniper to Nova. From there, I found that having a book titled Nova didn’t reveal much about it. I wanted a title to reveal what the book was about just by hearing it. So I decided to add the weapon she uses which was a sword, so Nova’s Blade.

Do you have a favorite scene in the book? What about it stuck out to you?

The ending fight scene because it wasn’t ever certain who would win. Just when you think it’s over, the fight continues. It had twists and turns, and also emotion revealing much about the characters with just a few lines.

So that’s it! Feel free to add this to Goodreads!

Instagram | Twitter | Pinterest | Goodreads | Girlfriend Box | The StoryGraph | TikTok

2 thoughts on “Interview With Black Author Brandon Lawson!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.