blog tour, book reviews, Reviews

Blog Tour: Tiger Queen Review + Favorite Quotes! // a totally underrated standalone desert fantasy

Hi friends! I’m beyond excited to be working with Fantastic Flying Book Tours and Blink YA Books to share my review and favorite quotes from Tiger Queen by Annie Sullivan! At the end there will be a link to a giveaway and to preorder the book.

ABOUT THE BOOK

Tiger Queen
by Annie Sullivan
Publisher: BLINK
Release date: September 10, 2019
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Retelling, Romance


Synopsis:

From Annie Sullivan, author of A Touch of Gold, comes Tiger Queen, a sweeping YA fantasy adventure that tells the story of a fierce desert princess battling to save her kingdom. Fans of Rebel of the Sands and Meagan Spooner will devour this retelling of Frank Stockton’s famous short story, “The Lady, or the Tiger?”

In the mythical desert kingdom of Achra, an ancient law forces sixteen-year-old Princess Kateri to fight in the arena to prove her right to rule. For Kateri, winning also means fulfilling a promise to her late mother that she would protect her people, who are struggling through windstorms and drought. The situation is worsened by the gang of Desert Boys that frequently raids the city wells, forcing the king to ration what little water is left. The punishment for stealing water is a choice between two doors: behind one lies freedom, and behind the other is a tiger.

But when Kateri’s final opponent is announced, she knows she cannot win. In desperation, she turns to the desert and the one person she never thought she’d side with. What Kateri discovers twists her world—and her heart—upside down. Her future is now behind two doors—only she’s not sure which holds the key to keeping her kingdom and which releases the tiger.

I wasn’t sure what to expect going into this, because I haven’t read any of the author’s previous works. But guess what? I was pleasantly surprised! Especially because I had this weird stigma against desert stories after reading an awful book about…jinns? Wisdom teeth? I don’t remember but know that it traumatized me until now.

The Characters!

Princess Kateri was a kick-butt female warrior. Every time I read about a good female warrior I get the urge to take up fighting*. Kateri’s character development was done so well. She went from almost callous, cruel, to having her eyes opened and her heart changed. She reminded me quite a lot of Princess Jasmine from Aladdin, actually!

*which lasts for about, oh, twelve hours

Cion was THE BEST. He has such a warm heart and will do anything to protect the people. Also his training style was so Karate-Kid esque I just sat and smiled like an idiot.

“It is our emotions that give us strength. They are what drives us to make ourselves stronger.”

Dimic deserves his own little paragraph because I would honestly have died for him. HE WAS SO PURE AND ODDLY GOOD AT PICKING LOCKS AND AGH. Seriously, read this book just for Dimic!

The Plot!

It kept me on edge the ENTIRE TIME. I guessed one plot twist but was actually caught pretty blind-sided by the other! Even when I was predicting things, I was still scared because what if the characters got hurt? Or died*? I also found the concept so unique? Everything felt so cultural and I truly felt as if I were reading about another place on Earth. I haven’t read the short story that this was inspired by but I may have to now that I’ve enjoyed this book so much!

*i was really emotionally invested okay

I had failed my mother so profoundly that it felt like the sandstorm raging outside had found its way under my skin and was tearing me apart.”

Other Points of Interest:

  • The romance was slow and cute! You could call it predictable but I was honestly enjoying it too much to care haha.
  • The world-building was so effortlessly done!
  • Um, tigers. That is the only thing I have to say.

BOOK LINKS

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/en/book/show/42281646
Amazon: https://amzn.to/2LjrAHC

Barnes & Noble: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/tiger-queen-annie-sullivan/1129853416?ean=9780310768777#/

Book Depository: https://www.bookdepository.com/Tiger-Queen-Annie-Sullivan/9780310768784?ref=grid-view&qid=1565246691681&sr=1-3

TOUR SCHEDULE

http://fantasticflyingbookclub.blogspot.com/2019/08/tour-schedule-tiger-queen-by-annie.html

GIVEAWAY

Prize: Tiger Queen poster and signed bookplate (USA only)

Starts: 9/4/19

Ends: 9/13/19

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/d9681b86398/?

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Annie Sullivan is a Young Adult author from Indianapolis, Indiana. Her work has been featured in Curly Red Stories and Punchnels. She loves fairytales, everything Jane Austen, and traveling and exploring new cultures. When she’s not off on her own adventures, she’s teaching classes at the Indiana Writers Center and working as the Copy Specialist at John Wiley and Sons, Inc. publishing company, having also worked there in Editorial and Publicity roles. You can follow her adventures on Twitter and Instagram (@annsulliva).

Website: https://anniesullivanauthor.com/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/annsullivan

A huge thank you to FFBT and the publisher for an e-ARC in exchange for an honest review! Quotes were taken from the ARC and may not appear in the finished copy.

And that’s it! I love participating in blog tours because it’s so much fun to read the same book with other people, and hype up stories that might get passed over otherwise! Tell me: are you excited to read this? What’s an excellent desert themed book that YOU recommend?

Advertisements

3 thoughts on “Blog Tour: Tiger Queen Review + Favorite Quotes! // a totally underrated standalone desert fantasy”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.