Tales From The Shadowhunter Academy (Mini)Review!

Hi friends! I’m back with another review, and it’s another Shadowhunters review. Yes, I know, I’m obsessed. I’m so happy to have buddy read this with one of the sweetest bloggers out there, Melanie! I just want to go over my rating for each story, because there’s so many. My main, overarching critique is this: the writing was a bit disappointing. Of course, there’s others who wrote these but I just couldn’t find that spark.

tales from the shadowhunter academy

Okay first of all, why does Simon look drunk on this cover? They really couldn’t have given him anything better?

Welcome To Shadowhunter Academy | 3.5/5 stars. This was an okay introduction to the anthology.

The Lost Herondale | 3/5 stars. I enjoyed the story, I suppose. It offered some interesting information but the execution was a bit lacking.

The Whitechapel Fiend | 5/5 stars! I totally wasn’t expecting this story but I honestly adored it! I’m trying not to spoil anything but this made me so sad and so happy!

Nothing But Shadows | 5/5 stars! Possibly my favorite in the entire collection? I mean, this was such a complex and different story. Not to mention it gave me all the parabatai feels???

The Evil We Love | 4/5 stars! I really liked how the themes of prejudice were portrayed.

Pale Kings and Princes | 5/5 stars! This one was just pure storytelling gold.

The Fiery Trial | 3.5/5 stars! The extra .5 is literally just for Jace showing up as Simon’s subconscious.

Born To Endless Night | 5/5 stars! Hilarious and heartwarming and amazing.

Angels Twice Descending | 4/5 stars! Okay this one also made me sad but it was a nice wrap-up to the collection!

All in all, I’d give this a 4 out of 5 stars! It was very much worth reading before Lady Midnight. Have you read this? Tell me your thoughts!

Copy of My Thoughts

One thought on “Tales From The Shadowhunter Academy (Mini)Review!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.